George Brertton Award

Nominations for the 4th Annual George Brertton Award are now open

Please see below for nomination criteria and nomination forms.

Nominations will be accepted until October 22, 2017.

Third Annual Alberta Restorative Justice – George Brertton Award

The Alberta Restorative Justice Association (ARJA) is pleased to announce that it awarded the Third Annual Alberta Restorative Justice – George Brertton Award to Don Lehman at the 10th Annual Alberta Restorative Justice Conference on November 17, 2016. This award was established in 2014 in honour of the late Elder George Brertton, Saddle Lake Cree First Nation, for his outstanding commitment and leadership in restorative justice.

ARJA is a collective voice to strengthen restorative justice practices in Alberta communities. It does this by working with institutions, organizations, practitioners and individuals to promote, educate and support those who wish to utilize healthy, holistic, restorative justice practices.

ARJA believes that by acknowledging individuals’ contributions to advancement of restorative justice in their communities, restorative practices will grow. George Brertton was an individual who through his life`s work promoted restoring individual, family or community relationships through the acceptance of diversity and equality of all. It is for this reason that ARJA has named the award, Alberta Restorative Justice – George Brertton Award.

JJ Beauchamp – ARJA Board of Directors and award presenter (left) and Don Lehman – 3rd Annual GBA recipient (right)

3rd Annual GBA Recipient – Don Lehman

Elder George Brertton

GBA Call for Nominations 2017

George Brertton Award Nomination 2017

Previous Award Recipients